| Read Time: 3 minutes | Workers Compensation Law
¿Cuándo Compensación a los Trabajadores de empezar a pagar en Carolina del Norte?

If you are injured on the job in North Carolina, you may wonder when workers’ comp will start paying.

Workers’ compensation is designed to provide financial assistance to workers injured or who become ill while performing job-related duties. Here’s what you need to know about when workers’ comp starts paying in North Carolina.

For immediate assistance from an experienced North Carolina workers’ compensation lawyer, please contact us online or call (336) 724-2828 today.

When Will I Get My First Workers’ Comp Check?

If your claim is approved, you should receive your first workers’ comp check within 14 days.

If your claim is denied or disputed, it may take longer to receive benefits, or you may need to appeal the decision. If you have questions about the workers’ compensation process in North Carolina, it’s always best to consult with an experienced workers’ compensation attorney.

When Will I Receive Disability Benefits?

If you’re eligible for temporary disability benefits, you should also start receiving those workers’ comp payments within 14 days of notification to your employer or insurance carrier. If your injury or illness results in a permanent disability, the timeline for receiving benefits may vary depending on the specifics of your case.

You may obtain a lump sum payment or weekly payments over some time. If your claim for disability benefits is denied or disputed, it may take longer to receive benefits, or you may need to appeal the decision.

How Long Does Workers’ Comp Take to Provide Medical Benefits?

In North Carolina, once you notify your employer or insurance carrier of your injury or illness, medical benefits for work-related injuries or illnesses should begin immediately.

Your employer is responsible for the costs. In other words, you should be able to seek medical treatment for your injury immediately without worrying about paying for it out of your pocket.

Timeline of Workers’ Comp Claims in North Carolina

While the specifics of each case can vary, here’s a general overview of the timeline of a workers’ compensation claim in North Carolina.

Report Your Injury to Your Employer

The first step in the workers’ compensation claim process is immediately reporting your injury to your employer. You should report your injury in writing and keep a copy of the report for your records. Your employer should then file a report with their workers’ compensation insurance carrier.

Seek Medical Treatment

After reporting your injury, seek medical treatment immediately. Your employer or insurance carrier will direct your medical treatment. It’s essential to seek treatment from an authorized provider to ensure workers’ compensation covers your medical bills.

File a Claim with the North Carolina Industrial Commission

If your injury is severe and you cannot work for more than seven days, you should file a claim with the North Carolina Industrial Commission (NCIC). 

Investigation and Discovery

After your claim is filed, your employer or insurance carrier may investigate your injury and its circumstances. They may also request that you attend an independent medical examination to determine your injury’s extent and ability to work.

Mediation or Hearing

If your claim is disputed, you may be required to attend mediation or a hearing with the NCIC. During mediation, a mediator will work with both parties to try to settle. If you cannot settle, a Deputy Commissioner will hear your case and decide your benefits.


If you disagree with the Deputy Commissioner’s decision, you have the right to appeal the decision to the Full Commission and, if necessary, to the North Carolina Court of Appeals.

Contact Our Workers’ Comp Attorneys in North Carolina For Help

At EMP Law, we have decades of experience advocating and fighting for injured workers’ rights throughout the state. We know employers and insurance carriers will try to dismiss your claim for as little as possible.

But we are here to ensure their business concerns don’t come before your well-being and health. Contact us online or call (336) 724-2828 for an initial consultation if you have been injured at work and have questions about workers’ comp benefits. 

We have offices in both Winston-Salem and Charlotte, North Carolina

Foto del autor

Griff se dedica a ayudar a las personas que necesitan ayuda con los problemas de compensación de los trabajadores, que son víctimas de la discriminación, o que han sufrido una lesión grave. Ejerce principalmente en las áreas de compensación laboral, empleo, derechos civiles y mediación.